Struggles for Script writing

Currently I am working on a short film screenplay where I am on my 3rd revision.

So how’s it going? It’s a struggle.

It’s funny to say, it has always been my dream to write stories or to be a scriptwriter, but apparently I feel very lost at doing one. I can’t seem to do it right. I have to make my script shorter and develop the characters better. This script is one of my requirements for my communication major.

I love watching movies, and finally I get to make a script for a short film. But its not easy because it has been frustrating since I don’t know where to begin to fix. As a matter of fact, I didn’t know what to write at first until someone willing pitched an idea for me and I developed on it.

The idea I used was about a story on drugs and made it into a script like 24 hours before the deadline. (Talk about cramming) But yes I did have an idea in mind because I am a person who daydreams and imagines a lot.

It’s frustrating because I’ve always wanted to write stories, but I know my weakness is that I write lengthy ones. I noticed when I write stories I spend time on details and dialogue. While this script needs to be short, yet apparently my Professor says it’s still long at my second revision.

My screenplay is due the next day and I am still trying to figure out what is wrong with it. Fortunately to be part of the millennials, I asked Google for help.

I read sample screenplays, and reviewed a bit of the definition I heard from class. I listed out the characters and their roles with personalities to clear things out. I didn’t a rough summary of the story to not get lost.

But in all honest truth, I am a beginner and time/deadline extension is not in my favor. Just like I tweeted hours ago:

 I need to get this body and mind working like a machine.

I also followed these sites I pretty much got some input from them. They are pretty useful sites to visit that I recommend to visit :

http://www.raindance.org/10-common-elements-of-award-winning-screenplays/

http://thewritepractice.com/screnplay-process/

Image result for typewriter font

Image courtesy via fonts.com

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Struggles for Script writing

Leave a Reply

